Chair of Crop Cultivation and Soil Science

Gagik Tovmasyan

Candidate of Sciences, Docent



  • 74 Teryan, 0009, Yerevan, RA
    ANAU, I building, room #218
  • (+37412) 58 00 65, int. 3-43, 3-08, 3-65
  • [email protected]

The chair of Crop Cultivation and Soil Science is one of the fundamental chairs of the Armenian National Agrarian University and it has its unique place and huge role in scientific-educational and also in the field of organization of agri-food production in the country.  The chair has various collaboration relations with international organizations (FAO, UNDP, IFAD, GIZ, IKARDA, VOCA-VISTA ADA, ECPIGR, IPGRI/ Agrobiodiversity/ Agrobiodiversity, etc.).

The chair issues two fundamental specialties in the field of agriculture: “Agronomy, selection and Genetics” and “Technology of Protected Ground” (starting at 2020-2021: “Greenhouse agrotechnology”). The main goal of the chair activity is ensuring the process of implementation of reforms and innovations in the field of agriculture and in agri-production processes, as well as preparing highly qualified specialists meeting the modern requirements of the labor market for the comprehensive development and increase of the agricultural sector. Many reforms aimed at modernizing the educational process and improving the quality of professional education have been initiated and are being implemented for the upcoming period of the department’s activity, in accordance with the goals defined by the strategy of the University.

Scientific-pedagogical and educational-methodological activities are accompanied by the use of new teaching methods, new teaching approaches and advanced technologies, combining theoretical and laboratory-practical classroom courses with the provision of thematic material on the electronic platform. The development of students’ skills to apply theoretical knowledge in practice is constantly important for the chair: the production and pre-graduation practices of chair are organized in in science-production-oriented economies of the university and in scientific units, as well as in the specialized farms, scientific centers and manufacturing companies of the beneficiary public and private sector to ensure the opportunities to receive quality education and improve the environment. The training carried out in the educational process on the basis of scientific innovations, introduced and commercialized, advanced technologies will ensure training of qualified specialists in the field of agriculture and also agri-technological specialty that meets the growing demands of the labor market.


According to the resolution of ANAU Board of Trustees on August 30 at 2019, the Chair of Crop Cultivation and Vegetable Growing and the Chair of General Agriculture were unified and in result the new Chair of Crop Cultivation and Soil Science was created. In 1930 the chair was separated from the Agricultural faculty of Yerevan State University and was moved to the newly formed Armenian Agricultural Institute (currently ANAU). For many years the chair was headed by academicians: M. Tumanyan, A. Matevosyan, professors: A. Tovmasyan, M. Gyulikhanyan.

Throughout its history the chair has published around 40 textbooks and educational plans, more than 1200 scientific articles and other works. The chair staff had a huge contribution in preparing farmers, plant protectors, breeders, in recent years greenhouse specialists as well.


Chair Staff

  1. Andreas Melikyan – Doctor of Science, Professor
  2. Henrik Harutyunyan – Candidate of Sciences, Docent
  3. Hamlet Martirosyan – Candidate of Sciences, Docent
  4. Alina Tadevosyan – Candidate of Sciences, Docent
  5. Hasmik Terteryan – Candidate of Sciences, Docent
  6. Sasun Mamajanyan – Candidate of Sciences, Lecturer
  7. Rudik Nazaryan – Candidate of Sciences, Lecturer
  8. Naira Gasparyan – Candidate of Sciences, Lecturer
  9. Gayae Martirosyan – Candidate of Sciences, Lecturer
  10. Lusine Yeritsyan – Candidate of Sciences, Lecturer
  11. Zaruhi Shekoyan – Candidate of Sciences, Lecturer
  12. Narine Mirzoyan – Lecturer
  13.  Aregnaz Nazaretyan – Assistant
  14. Laura Petrosyan – Assistant
  15. Katerine Tserunyan – Specialist
  16. Melanya Davtyan – Specialist
  17. Tatevik Aloyan – Assistant


Crop cultivation
Vegetable growing
Commodity science
Hydroponic systems
Protected soil vegetable growing / hydroponic environment /
Protected soil vegetable growing /soil environment/
Methodology of agronomic research
Management of greenhouse-thermal systems
Basics of agriculture
Protected ground floriculture
Cultivation of medicinal plants and aromatic plants in protected ground
Virus-free planting material production technology
Grain science and fruit growing
Technology of obtaining raw materials
Field and vegetable plant taxonomy
Meadow breeding basied on forage
Basics of organic farming
Basics of Organic Agriculture
General basics of selection
Selection and breeding of greenhouse plants
Taxonomy of greenhouse plants
Organic agriculture
Mushroom cultivation
Preparation of soil mixtures in protected ground
Greenhouse-thermal systems
Management of the greenhouse environment
Basics of vegetation
Economic characteristics of fresh and processed fruits and vegetables
Organization of sowing and seedling work in greenhouses
Commodity science, standardization, certification of crop production
Technological process of grain-flour products production
Technological process of fruit-vegetable, mushroom production
Commodity characteristics of cereal-flour products
Commodity characteristics of starch, mat, honey confectionery products
P/gr. types and features of structures
P/gr. plant growth and development features
Soil science on the basis of agrochemistry / dual /
Hydroponic plant cultivation
Skills of mormazin crops cultivation and application of biotechnological methods in protected ground
Skills of pumpkin crops cultivation and application of biotechnological methods in protected ground
Skills of bean cultivation and application of biotechnological methods in protected ground
Skills of mushroom growing in protected ground
General agriculture
Commodity characteristics of flavor products
Commodity characteristics of food concentrates
P/gr. used fertilizers and application technology
Skills of flower cultivation and application of biotechnological methods in protected ground
Skills of obtaining virus-free potato planting material in protected ground
Basics of plant biotechnology
Climate change and crop cultivation
Varietal diversity, transgenic plants and improved genomes
Methodology of scientific works
Agrochemical ecology
Innovation Plant Breeding and Applied Biotechnology
Nutrient environment and plant nutrition
Greenhouse engineering
Operation of soil greenhouses /optional/
Cultivation of tropical and subtropical plants /optional/
Management and marketing of greenhouses
Plant response to stress conditions
Introduction of organic agriculture
Crop and horticulture project management
Seed technologies and perennial nurseries
Post-harvest technologies
Protected ground technologies /optional/
Transition to organic agriculture
Greenhouse microclimate managemen
Basics of agricultural research
Organic agriculture /optional/
Cultivation of plants in controlled environments
Soil fertility and plant nutrition
Quality control and standards
Methods of scientific research