Chair of Biochemistry, Microbiology and Virology

Gayane Marmaryan

Doctor of Sciences,Docent



  • 74 Teryan, 0009, Yerevan, RA,
    ANAU, V building, room #320
  • (+37412) 52 05 85; 52-69-16; int. 2-26; 3-85, 4-12
  • [email protected]

The Chair of Biochemistry was founded in 1928. The first chair was V.A. Kamentsev, later famous academicians as A. Ioannisyan, H. Buniatyan, A. Babayan, professors L. Davtyan, M. Gasparyan, G. Kamalyan headed the chair. The chair of Microbiology and Virology was founded in 1929. In 2013 the two chairs of “Biochemistry” and “Microbiology and Virology” were united. From 2013 till 2017 the chair was A.V. Vardanyan, and since March of 2017 G. Marmaryan, doctor of sciences, docent, was appointed as acting head of the chair.
Scientific researches implemented by the chair and Metabolism Basic Laboratory are in the direction of influence of biologically active amines (ethanolamine, acetyl-ethanolamine, sulphoethanolamine, succinyl ethanolamine) and mineral elements (bentonite, zeolite) on the growth and development of farm animals and plants as well as at the clarification of biochemical, physiological and immunological mechanisms underlying its basis. 2 textbooks on biochemistry, manuals, monographs, and brochures have been written and published by the staff of chair. Due to the hard work done by the chair for the first time 4 textbooks on microbiology, 3 textbooks on virology, 3 monographs, manuals have been published in Armenian language. Lecturers and researchers have always shown active participation in international conferences, have presented 150 scientific reports, have published 650 scientific articles and have received numerous copyright patents.
The chair took part in various international events on biochemistry, as well as symposiums on biochemistry organized under the aegis of FEBS (Federation of the Societies of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology), ISN (International Society for Neurochemistry), and UNESCO. Antibiotics Basic Laboratory has been operating adherent to the chair since 1963. The scientists of this department conducted researches in the direction of lactic acid bacteria in local races, and several other local preservation duration, tea mushroom culture fluid comprehensive. S.S.Avakian, docent of the chair, has developed a new way of disinfectant preparations detection and quality control.

Chair Staff

  1. Hasmik Harutyunyan  – Candidate of Sciences, Docent
  2. Artur Harutyunyan – Candidate of Sciences, Docent
  3. Sargis Avagyan – Candidate of Sciences, Docent
  4. Aram Avagyan – Candidate of Sciences, Docent
  5. Lusine Avagyan – Assistant
  6. Gohar Yaralyan – Assistant
  7. Anahit Movsisyan – Senior Laboratory Assistant
  8. Nazeli Babayan – Senior Laboratory Assistant
  9. Hasmik Grigoryan – Senior Laboratory Assistant
  10. Svetlana Zhamkochyan – Junior Laboratory Assistant
  11. Anahit Ghazaryan – Laboratory Assistant


Clinical Biochemistry
Food Biochemistry
Veterinary microbiology